No-Flour Banana muffins

Ok, this was a completely off-the-cuff idea. Everyone is talking about no-flour baking. I am an avid baker, but this is something I could not get my head around. Plus, there was that whole ego issue I have with buying imported expensive almond flours etc, when there are perfectly good Indian raw materials!

So, I decided to challenge myself. Took a bunch of interesting raw materials, bunged them in a mixer jar, held my breath and baked. Lo presto! Out came these wonderfully spongy, soft, moist muffins.

I was a little apprehensive about their reception with the home junta. So I utilized my all-time favourite, fail-proof trick – I topped them with a smudge of dark chocolate ganache 🙂

My kids and husband have been raving about them. No one guessed that they were made without flour. They taste different, they say, but a good different.

Yipee! I love it when these little baking & cooking experiments are a success 🙂

Each of these little babies has a total of about 8 almonds. That’s a little much for a single serving, so we’ve been eating them halved. But they are quite filling, so half a cupcake is satisfying enough. Here’s the recipe.

Prep time: 10 mins

Cook time: 20-30 min

Serves: 12 medium muffins; suggested 24 servings

1 cup whole almonds

½ cup unsalted, home-roasted peanuts (I don’t how ready roasted peanuts will taste)

½ cup fresh grated coconut

4 tbsp jaggery powder / 5 tbsp honey (the cupcakes aren’t very sweet – if you want, you can add a couple tbsp more to the mix to make them sweeter)

½ tsp salt

3 eggs

2 tbsp olive oil

2 large bananas (over ripe are the best – the worse they look, the better they are for baking)

1 tsp cinnamon powder

2 tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees centigrade
  2. Put the almonds, peanuts and coconuts in the dry grinding jar of your mixer and churn well till the mixture resembles crushed biscuits (it will not be a fine powder – don’t worry – surprisingly, this doesn’t prevent the muffins from rising!)
  3. Add all the remaining ingredients into the jar and churn till everything is mixed together well and there are no banana lumps
  4. Then churn for another 2-3 minutes
  5. Divide mixture into a 12 cupcake pan
  6. Place in the oven and bake for 20-30 minutes till a toothpick inserted in the middle of a cupcake comes out clean
  7. Wait for 10 minutes, then remove and place them on a wire rack to cool

Note: My crust started browning well before the interiors had set. So I covered the cupcake pan with foil for the last 10 minutes of baking to save the crust from burning and to enable the insides to get done uniformly

Note 2: If you want to go eggless, then I would suggest replacing the eggs with 1/2 cup curd and 1/2 tsp baking soda. I haven’t tried this myself, but this replacement works in most recipes.

Leave a Reply

