For Goodness’ Sake Woman, build those puny muscles! i.e. You will not look like a man

images (12)

Not many things get my goat like a woman who says,”I don’t do strength training because xyz…”. The reason really doesn’t matter.

Well, I lift weights. Correction: I lift like a boss in the gym.

I stand in line with the men to wait for the right weights when the gym is crowded. And I am proud of it!

<That’s not me in the pic. Unfortunately.>

Resistance training is a recent discovery that is starting to find favour with me as minimal equipment means I can do it anywhere.

Life is easier when you are strong – I carry my own groceries with ease (5-6 kilo bags in each hand). I carry my children everywhere, including my 7 year old, when he is sleeping. I am not dependent on anyone to lift things to get to other things.

Need more reasons to lift?

  1. You will get fitter, faster. Building muscle is a fast, fool proof way of gaining overall fitness. A 30 minute strength straining workout will burn more calories, for longer than a regular cardio workout. Weight training works by breaking your muscle micro fibers and then building them again, stronger. Over a 24 – 48 hour period. Plus, when you gain muscle, your body works harder to feed those brutes. Meaning, you burn more calories even when at rest. I.e. Your Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR) rises.
  2. You reduce chances of joint injury: When you lift right, you develop muscles and ligaments that support your joints in taking the load of your body weight. I have a condition called joint hypermobility which basically means that my ligaments are not strong and the joint can dislocate at anytime, if not properly used. Strength training is the one thing that has consistently helped me almost forget this.
  3. You will earn your protein: The repair work mentioned in point1 needs a lot of protein. So any high-protein diet you’ve been following? Well, you’ll actually need it now.
  4. You will become more confident:
    4ab07a9bf8732ff35f0ee7a4cd65c74e
    When you are stronger, you will feel safe in the knowledge that you will be in a position to take on challenges (planned or untoward & lurking) on your own strength (pun intended).
  5. You will positively impact your future quality of life: Strength training reduces chances of many degenerative diseases like osteoporosis and arthritis.
  6. You will start on an activity that has proven beneficial to people with serious conditions: To quote this Nerd Fitness article,

    …strength training has been proven to help manage and improve the quality of life for people with Arthritis, Osteoporosis, Parkinson’s Disease, Down Syndrome, Lymphedema, fibromyalgia, who have recently had a stroke, have had a spinal cord injury, cancer survivors and clinical depression.

7.  Finally, You Look GOOD. End of story. I mean, are you going to tell me you do not want those wonderful chiseled arms, non-dangly triceps, lean & sinewy calves, tight buttocks? Well, news alert my friend – no cardio workout will get you there.

All in all, ladies, do yourselves a favour. Start strength training.

Stay Strong!

Leave a Reply

